The 5 Love Languages: Expressing Your Love In A Way They'll Understand


We all have different ways of expressing our love. And sometimes, we might not even be aware of the way we are expressing it. It is only when we take the time to understand our partner’s love language that we can truly connect with them on a deeper level. 
In this article, we will be discussing the 5 love languages and how you can use them to express your love in a way that your partner will understand. Keep reading to find out more!

What are the five love languages?

The 5 love languages were developed by Dr. Gary Chapman, an American marriage therapist, and author. These languages are a way of expressing and receiving love to and from your partner, as well as understanding their needs.

The five love languages are:

  1. Quality Time
  2. Physical Touch
  3. Acts of Service
  4. Receiving Gifts
  5. Words of Affirmation.

Quality Time involves giving someone your undivided attention, a chance to be heard and valued.

Physical Touch involves touching your partner in a loving way, such as hugs or kisses.

Acts of Service involve doing something for your partner that shows you are looking out for them and trying to make their life easier.

Receiving Gifts is a way to show your partner that you are thinking of them and that you are willing to give them something special.

Finally, Words of Affirmation are words that you say that make your partner feel valued, appreciated, and important. 


Which love language do you speak?
When it comes to understanding which love language you speak, Dr. Chapman suggests that you ask yourself the following questions:
  • Do you want your partner to make more effort in conversations with you?
  • Do you appreciate gestures of love they make?
  • Is it important for you to physically touch your partner and express your feelings through physical contact?
  • Do you crave gifts as a form of love and appreciation?
Through understanding which love language you predominantly speak, you can also determine which love language your partner speaks. This can help you express your love in a way they’ll understand and appreciate.
So how can you express your love in a way they’ll understand? Once you first understand your partner’s love language and your own, you can then start to express your love in a way that your partner will understand.
For example, if your partner’s love language is Quality Time, you can make an effort to spend more time with them, engage in meaningful conversations, and listen to what they have to say.
If their love language is Physical Touch, you can give them hugs, kisses and caresses to show your appreciation and love.
If their love language is Acts of Service, you can help them with chores or take them out to do something special.
If their love language is Receiving Gifts, you can give them something special to show your love and appreciation.
And finally, if their love language is Words of Affirmation, you can make sure to tell them how much you appreciate them, how much you care about them, and that you are there for them.


The 5 love languages can be a helpful way for couples to connect on a deeper level. By understanding the different ways of expressing and receiving love, you can make sure that your partner feels heard and appreciated.
Take the time to find out your own love language and your partner’s, as well as craft unique ways to express your love and show your appreciation.
Remember, all love affairs begin with you.  Prioritize appreciating your own unique love language and your partner's will be that much easier to discern.
If you find yourself inspired to share your own Wild Thoughts, I invite you to click here to submit your anonymous submission.  

Leave a comment

All comments are moderated before being published